Laney Roos

Aubrey pitcher Laney Roos (9) gets a hit off a pitch from Kennedale pitcher Megan Calhoun (20) at Argyle High School, Wednesday, May 1, 2019, in Argyle, Texas.

Aubrey was the only Denton-area team to have a consistent presence in the Texas Girls Coaches Association rankings throughout softball season, and the Lady Chaparrals’ success was reflected in three players earning District 11-4A superlative honors.

LSU commit Laney Roos, who hit .573 with 45 RBIs and nine home runs while also going 20-3 with 147 strikeouts and a 2.18 ERA in the circle, was named the district’s co-MVP, and twin sister Lexie Roos (.433, 32 RBIs, .982 fielding) was the catcher of the year.

Emma Spears, Aubrey’s sophomore second baseman who hit .391 with 15 RBIs, was named newcomer of the year.

Six other area players took home all-district superlative honors, including Guyer’s Morgan Medford, who closed out a four-year varsity career by leading the Lady Wildcats to the regional quarterfinals for the second straight season.

Medford hit .509 with 33 RBIs and 51 runs and was named the District 5-6A offensive player of the year.

In District 8-5A, two of Denton’s young stars earned superlative awards. Sophomore shortstop Kaylin Jackson, who hit .434 with 37 RBIs and six home runs, was the offensive player of the year. Freshman pitcher Ashanti McDade was named the district’s newcomer of the year after going 15-11 with a 2.86 ERA and 204 strikeouts while hitting .434 with 28 RBIs.

Ryan’s Abby Buettner, who hit .610 with 28 extra-base hits and 64 RBIs, was the 8-5A defensive player of the year.

Krum’s Lindsay Beutnagel was defensive player of the year in District 8-4A after leading the Lady Bobcats to a second-place finish.

Pilot Point’s Maiah Morris, who hit .356 with eight home runs and 33 RBIs, was offensive player of the year in District 9-3A.

See the full Denton-area all-district lists below, and pick up a copy of the June 16 edition of the Denton Record-Chronicle to see the 31 players honored on the DRC All-Area Softball Team presented by Classic of Denton.

District 5-6A

MVP – Maddy Wright, Haslet Eaton

Pitcher of the Year – Dylann Kaderka, Keller

Catcher of the Year – Ashlyn Walker, Eaton

Co-Newcomer of the Year – Hailey Jones, Keller

Co-Newcomer of the Year – Vivica Hernandez, Eaton

Offensive Player of the Year – Morgan Medford, Guyer

Infielder of the Year – Riley Love, Keller

Outfielder of the Year – Amanda Desario, Keller

Utility Player of the Year – Kennedy Crites, Eaton

Coaching Staff of the Year – Keller

First Team

Dani Garcia, Keller Fossil Ridge; Ranci Willis, Guyer; Kara DeBruin, Guyer; Ryan Gallegos, Guyer; Eva Myers, Guyer; Chelsea Blankenship, Eaton; Jaden Middlebrook, Eaton; Tessa Galipeau, Eaton; Hayden Brown, Keller; Gaby Garcia, Southlake Carroll; Kelly Shackleford, Southlake Carroll; Madison Cashon, Southlake Carroll; Bailee Riggs, Keller Central; Allie Shaw, Keller Timber Creek.

Second Team

Gwyn Miller, Trophy Club Nelson; Sarah Diessner, Trophy Club Nelson; Katie Gee, Southlake Carroll; Reese Mitchell, Keller Timber Creek; Baylea Myers, Keller Timber Creek; Hope Waid, Keller Fossil Ridge; Kate Franz, Keller Fossil Ridge; Caraline Woodall, Keller; Alexa Langeliers, Keller; Kenzlee Zaher, Eaton; Syndee Shelton, Keller Central.

District 8-5A

Co-MVP: Jayda Coleman, The Colony

Co-MVP: Lauren Lucas, Little Elm

Offensive Player of the Year: Kaylin Jackson, Denton

Defensive Player of the Year: Abby Buettner, Ryan

Pitcher of the Year: Karlie Charles, The Colony

Catcher of the Year: Jacee Hamlin, The Colony

Newcomer of the Year: Ashanti McDade, Denton

Co-Utility Player of the Year: Olivia Wick, The Colony

Co-Utility Player of the Year: Izzi Fielder, Little Elm

Coaching Staff of the Year: The Colony

First Team

Michelle Tillapaugh, The Colony; Elexus Facors, The Colony; Madison Adams, Little Elm; Alyssa Adams, Little Elm; Mikayla Roy, Little Elm; Georgia Heathcock, Little Elm; Rylee Seymour, Justin Northwest; Hannah Copeland, Justin Northwest; Savanna Phillips, Ryan; Harper Hughes, Ryan; Katie Baeumler, Ryan; AJ Frausto, Braswell; Emma Rodrigues, Braswell; Shelby Nelson, Lake Dallas; Brooklyn Morris, Denton; Brandy Sorrells, Denton; Gabby Naples, Denton.

Second Team

Allie Buchanan, Lake Dallas; Aubrey Meyers, Lake Dallas; Jodee Duncan, The Colony; Carlie Goldy, The Colony; Leah Salinas, Little Elm; Melissa Ocasio, Little Elm; Taylor Jayo, Justin Northwest; Aryanna Reyes, Justin Northwest; Kobie Bothell, Ryan; Kiana Olim, Ryan; Amanda Terzich, Ryan; Alex Guerrero, Ryan; Cat Carter, Denton; Cat Carter, Denton; Meagan Haney, Denton; Taylor Pizzica, Denton; Britain Hartzell, Braswell; Erin Corley, Braswell; Rylee Carpenter, Braswell.

District 11-4A

Co-MVP – Hannah Howell, Anna

Co-MVP – Laney Roos, Aubrey

Co-Offensive MVP – Grace Cantu, Celina

Co-Offensive MVP – Audrey Solomon, Melissa

Defensive MVP – Shelby Dombrowski, Anna

Pitcher of the Year – Micayla Galloway, Celina

Catcher of the Year – Lexie Roos, Aubrey

Newcomer of the Year – Emma Spears, Aubrey

Freshman of the Year – Hannah Price, Anna

Utility Player of the Year – Savannah Rodriguez, Melissa

Coaching Staff of the Year – Anna

First Team

Sage Murray, Celina; Colbie Balsamo, Celina; Alexis Pevehouse, Melissa; Kylee Brakebill, Melissa; Madison Gaston, Anna; Kallie Harris, Anna; Jessica Grimes, Aubrey; Nia Bengtzen, Aubrey; Lauren Trott, Aubrey; Anna Fortenberry, Melissa; Alexa Almejo, Sanger.

Second Team

Trinity Needham, Melissa; Hannah Howell, Aubrey; Kimberlin Hopson, Sanger; Natalie Guiterrez, Gainesville; Alexys Gingegaw, Celina; Maggie Rodgers, Melissa; Maralyn Perez, Celina; Bryton Wright, Melissa; Madison McPherson, Anna; Hannah Morland, Anna; Lexi Kendrick, Aubrey.

District 8-4A

MVP: JT Smith, Decatur

Offensive MVP: Brison Hesteande, Decatur

Defensive MVP: Lindsay Beutnagel, Krum

Newcomer of the Year: Ashlynne Lane, Springtown

Pitcher of the Year: Reagan Chism, Decatur

Catcher of the Year: Valerie Garcia, Springtown

Utility Player of the Year: Jaci Ticknor, Decatur

First Team

Tristyn Trull, Decatur; Kennedy Brooks, Krum; Raylee Carey, Krum; Cheyanne Weirich, Bridgeport; Ashley Marschall, Bridgeport; Camryn Solcum, Springtown; Jayce Bolin, Krum; Lindsay Hill, Krum; Kelsey Vincent, Springtown; Kylie Johnson, Bridgeport.

Second Team

Abby Williams, Argyle; Lanie Rodgers, Argyle; Payton Perkins, Decatur; Sami Cantu, Decatur; Kamryn Downhour, Krum; Delaney Jones, Springtown; Lilly Hooks, Decatur; Trinity Scheidecker, Bridgeport; Faith Butler, Krum; Madison Smith, Springtown; Jordyn Tarrant, Argyle.

District 9-3A

MVP – Elizabeth Schroeter, Gunter

Pitcher of the Year – Lauren Jaresh, Sadler S&S Consolidated

Catcher of the Year – Hayden Fox, Gunter

Offensive Player of the Year – Maiah Morris, Pilot Point

Defensive Player of the Year – Abby Gilbreath, Gunter

Newcomer of the Year – Karley Wolf, Whitesboro

Coaching Staff of the Year – Gunter

First Team

Bethany Gilbreath, Gunter; Kaylee Pruiett, Gunter; Monique Villanueva, Gunter; Christine Billmeier, Pilot Point; Kenedee Gist, Pilot Point; Bailee Stewart, Pilot Point; Baylie Baumann, Ponder; McKayla Pittman, Ponder; Haylee Mahan, Sadler S&S Consolidated; Riley Marshall, Sadler S&S Consolidated; Jecca Autry, Whitesboro.

Second Team

Taylor Boddie, Gunter; Olivia Eft, Gunter; Paige Cox, Pilot Point; Brooke Lane, Pilot Point; Kaylee Adler, Ponder; Sammy Wallis, Pottsboro; Kaylee Baker, Sadler S&S Consolidated; Bella Medrano, Sadler S&S Consolidated; Taylor Maxwell, Sadler S&S Consolidated; Elly Harper, Whitesboro; Chesney Wolf, Whitesboro.

BRADY KEANE can be reached at 940-566-6869 and via Twitter at @BradyKeane.

Recommended for you