The regular season is finally over, and for six Denton-area football teams, it’s time to march toward a state championship.

Leading the charge are defending champions Ryan and Argyle.

Ryan, which won the Class 5A Division I state title in January, is once again the top seed in its division and hosts W.T. White at 7 p.m. on Thursday at C.H. Collins Athletic Complex.

Meanwhile, Argyle starts its Class 4A Division I title defense at 7:30 p.m. on Friday when it hosts Dallas Wilmer-Hutchins at Eagle Stadium.

Joining them in this year’s postseason are Guyer, Aubrey, Pilot Point and Sanger.

Guyer hosts Flower Mound in a Class 6A showdown at C.H. Collins Athletic Complex. That game is slated for 7 p.m. on Friday.

In other playoff action, Aubrey, which finished second in its district, travels to Springtown to take on Bridgeport at 7 p.m. Pilot Point will face Early in a 7:30 p.m. game at Saginaw’s Roughrider Stadium. Sanger will take on Graham at 7 p.m. on Friday in Aledo.

Recommended for you

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!