De'Vion Harmon and Jalen Wilson

Guyer guard De'Vion Harmon (11) and Guyer forward Jalen Wilson (10) huddle up, while opponent, Lake Ridge, shoots free throws at Grapevine High School, Tuesday, February 26, 2019, in Grapevine, Texas.

While Guyer fell short of its goal of advancing to the state tournament for the first time, the Wildcats advanced to Class 6A Region I final for the second straight year after dominating the District 5-6A competition throughout the regular season.

After claiming a second consecutive undefeated district title, Guyer again controlled the all-district list, with seniors De’Vion Harmon and Jalen Wilson taking home co-MVP honors. Junior JaKobe Coles was the offensive player of the year, and junior Ty McGhie was a first-team all-district selection.

Five other Denton-area players earned superlative honors at the all-district level, including Argyle’s Max Valentino, who was the District 8-4A offensive MVP. Argyle sophomore Nate Atwood was the newcomer of the year in a district that featured state semifinalist Decatur.

In District 8-5A, Braswell’s Cam Smith was the newcomer of the year after leading the Bengals to the playoffs for the first time in program history.

Aubrey’s Hayden Smith was the offensive MVP in District 11-4A, and Austin Carter took home newcomer of the year honors for the Chaparrals.

Here are the full boys basketball all-district lists for area teams:

District 5-6A

Co-MVP: De’Vion Harmon, Guyer

Co-MVP: Jalen Wilson, Guyer

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: JaKobe Coles, Guyer

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Brandon Haddock, Southlake Carroll

Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Novitske, Trophy Club Nelson

Newcomer of the Year: Jesse Iweze, Nelson

First Team

Tyler Mcghie, Guyer; Lattrell Jossell, Keller Central; Jonathan Zapinski, Carroll; Preston Hannah, Keller; Jordyn Vicente, Keller Timber Creek; Nico Matheus, Nelson; Jason Makayabo, Nelson; Austin Garner, Nelson.

Second Team

Michael Mouser, Timber Creek; Cole Roberts, Keller; Dylan Hatton, Carroll; Blake Smith, Carroll; Kylil Anderson, Central; Devon’Dre Mayfield, Haslet Eaton; Brandon Lewis, Keller Fossil Ridge; Nick Erves, Fossil Ridge.

District 8-5A

MVP: Avery Anderson, Justin Northwest

Offensive MVP: RJ Hampton, Little Elm

Defensive MVP: Brandon Crossley, Little Elm

Newcomer of the Year: Cam Smith, Braswell

Coach of the Year: Travis Edwards, Northwest

First Team

Tashawn Banks, Ryan; Garren Davis, The Colony; Luis Rodriguez, The Colony; Bryce Okpoh, The Colony; MJ Leslie, Braswell; Sammie Freeman, Northwest; Julien Smith, Northwest.

Second Team

Josh King-Walker, Ryan; Yash Mattu, Lake Dallas; Keith Miller, The Colony; Mark Kunz, Braswell; Lezeric Bailey, Braswell; Jaylen Peterson, Northwest.

District 11-4A

MVP: Karson Stastny, Celina

Offensive MVP: Hayden Smith, Aubrey

Defensive MVP: Ezra Monroe, Melissa

Newcomer of the Year: Austin Carter, Aubrey

Sixth Man of the Year: Noah Ross, Celina

Coaching Staff of the Year: Celina

First Team

Bryson Brown, Celina; Garrison Williams, Celina; Tre Lawson, Gainesville; Ricky Morning, Melissa; Matt Holloway, Melissa.

Second Team

Micah Cotton, Anna; Jayden Hollis, Aubrey; Kobe Ollison, Celina; Draylon Franklin, Gainesville; Kenneth Castleberry, Melissa; Hank Lemons, Sanger.

District 8-4A

MVP: Wilson Hicks, Decatur

Offensive MVP: Max Valentino, Argyle

Defensive MVP: Ethan Southard, Decatur

Newcomer of the Year: Nate Atwood, Argyle

Sixth Man of the Year: Carson Tibbles, Decatur

Coaching Staff of the Year: Decatur

First Team

Izek Chavana, Decatur; Grayson Harris, Decatur; Gaige Rieger, Decatur; Brandon White, Argyle; Hunter Lavelle, Argyle; Jackson Maupin, Argyle; James Wann, Springtown; Carter Marquis, Krum.

Second Team

Cole Lee, Krum; Camden Chesney, Springtown; Riley Comiskey, Springtown; Drew Carstens, Bridgeport; Isaiah Smith, Bridgeport; Jacob Dye, Argyle; Eli Randall, Argyle; Layton Harris, Decatur; Triston Read, Decatur; Noah Young, Decatur.

District 9-3A

MVP: Cade Acker, Whitesboro

Offensive Player of the Year: Kai Barr, Pottsboro

Defensive Player of the Year: Jaxon Recer, Pottsboro

Sixth Man of the Year: Joey Gullet, Whitesboro

Newcomer of the Year: Andrew Fletcher, Whitesboro

Coaching Staff of the Year: Whitesboro

First Team

Tryston Gaines, Whitesoro; Montana Morgan, Whitesboro; Caleb Andrews, Callisburg; Kyle Watson, Gunter; Zander Turner, Gunter; Mason Sheppard, Pilot Point; Jacob Pitts, Pilot Point; Jase Hutcherson, Ponder; Oscar Martinez, Ponder; Daniel Arnold, Pottsboro; Cameron Curry, Pottsboro; Scout Sanders, Whitesboro.

Second Team

Jake McCorkle, Whitesboro; Kobe Hunter, Gunter; Clay Lemons, Gunter; Aydon Cox, Pilot Point; Javin Bruce, Pilot Point; Hayden Simmons, Ponder; Cameron Clark, Ponder; Blake Dyer, Pottsboro; Angel Ortega, Sadler S&S Consolidated.

BRADY KEANE can be reached at 940-566-6869 and via Twitter at @BradyKeane.

Recommended for you