Election 2018

EDITOR'S NOTE: This story has been corrected to reflect that Pilot Point has one contested race. Chris Aquinaldo is challenging incumbent Andy Singleton for Place 1 on the Pilot Point City Council. Also, Pilot Point Mayor Shea Dane-Patterson's name has been corrected.

With voting around the corner, several additional local elections are happening in parts of Denton County.

Residents in four school districts and nine cities and towns can start casting ballots Monday in the local election before election day on Saturday, May 4.

From an opposed mayoral race in Copper Canyon to a race to fill a vacancy on Bartonville Town Council, here’s a look on the ballots in surrounding towns and communities.

Copper Canyon

Ron Robertson, owner of Roberston Pools, is running against current Copper Canyon Mayor Sue Tejml.

Tejml, a retired attorney, has held the seat of mayor since May 2005.

The other two elections on the Copper Canyon ballot are also opposed.

Jeff Mangum, who is currently mayor pro tem and has been on Copper Canyon Town Council since 1997, drew one opponent this year. Ted Stranczek, who is retired from the aviation industry, is running against Mangum for Place 2.

Dave Svatik, the current council member for Place 4, is not running for reelection. Instead, Karla Hohenberger and Robin Douglas Davis are vying for the position.


For Bartonville Town Council elections, only one race is opposed.

For Place 1, incumbent Jeff Traylor is facing Sherry Pound, who is focusing on campaigning to keep Bartonville a rural community.

Despite drawing two initial challengers, Josh Phillips, who has held Place 5 on Bartonville Town Council since May 2017, is now unopposed. While Cary Allcorn and Bridget “Dr. B” Melson filed to run against Phillips, both have withdrawn their candidacies.

Melson withdrew so she could run for Place 4, which is an unexpired term. Melson, a marriage and family therapist, is running against Harry Otto, a current member of the Bartonville Planning & Zoning Commission. The seat is currently vacant.

Residents will also vote in the Place 3 election, where Clay Sams is up for re-election and faces no opponent.

Cross Roads

The three candidates with the most votes in the May 4 election will get named to Cross Roads Town Council. Two incumbents are running to return to their seats, Wendy White-Stevens and David Meek. Four additional candidates are on the ballot: Eddie Army, Dave Murphy, Jason Kelly and Duke Roberson.

Pilot Point

Pilot Point has one contested City Council race with Chris Aquinaldo challenging incumbent Andy Singleton for Place 1. 

Three other candidates, all incumbents, are unopposed: Mayor Shea Dane-Patterson, Ronald Petty in Place 4 and Cassie Hilliard in Place 6. 


Alan Woodall, who has served as mayor since January, is running to maintain his position. Woodall previously served as mayor pro tem until Mayor David Wilson resigned at the beginning of the year amid health problems. Woodall is running unopposed.

Three people are vying for the two council seats that are available. The two candidates with the most votes will be named to the seats. Incumbents Charlotte Moore and Nick Krueger and political newcomer Jim Tate are running.


Three Krugerville City Council seats are up for election this May, with only one seat facing a challenger.

For Place 5, Charles Terwilliger is challenging incumbent Kristen Kromer for the two-year term. Additionally, Thurman Bridges is running to keep his seat for Place 1 and John A. Nipe is running for reelection in Place 3.

JENNA DUNCAN can be reached at 940-566-6889 and via Twitter at @jennafduncan.

Recommended for you