Twelve journalists and writers received awards Saturday at the University of North Texas’ Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference for reporting, biographical writing and personal essays.

The Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism hosts the annual conference, which features keynote speakers and writing workshops throughout the weekend.

Washington Post reporter Eli Saslow took first place in the Best American Newspaper Narratives contest for his story on Scot Peterson. Peterson is the former resource officer at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, who was publicly criticized after the school shooting that left 17 students dead.

George Newtown won first place in the book manuscript contest for Perverse: A Psychosexual Memoir, in which he writes about the forces that brought him from his childhood sexual panic to understanding adult sexuality.

Matt Crossman won first place for reported narrative for his work about a soldier who nearly died from injuries in Afghanistan who now races cars. Chris Phelan’s personal essay about an assault he faced as a young recruit by his fellow sailors earned him first place for personal essay.

Morgan Voeltz Swanson won the biography fellowship for the upcoming work To the Edge of Endurance: American Soldier Henry W. Lawton, Apache Leader Geronimo, and a Manhunt Through the Desert.

The biography fellowship winner earns a $500 travel stipend and attendance to next year’s Biographers International Conference. The winner also gets a two- to three-week in-residence fellowship to work with James McGrath Morris, co-founder of Biographers International.

Recommended for you