Denton ISD

Denton back-to-school fair scheduled for Aug. 10

The second annual Denton Back to School Fair is scheduled for Aug. 10 from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the University of North Texas Gateway Center at 800 N. Texas Blvd.

If parents sign their students up by July 19, students will receive a free backpack, school supplies, a haircut and more.

This past year, more than 3,000 students were received assistance through the program. Donations can be made by visiting

Registration forms can be found by following the links on the same site.

For more information, call Alicia McElroy at 940-566-5851, ext. 119, or email her at

Denton Christian Preschool

Ice cream social slated for Sunday

Volunteers, community friends and donors are invited to the Denton Christian Preschool’s ice cream social on Sunday.

The come-and-go event will last from 2 to 4 p.m. and will be at First Presbyterian Church, 1114 W. University Drive in Denton.

Early enrollment event begins Monday

Parents of 3- and 4-year-olds wanting to enroll them in classes at the Denton Christian Preschool will have an opportunity beginning at 6 p.m. Monday.

The event will be in the Erwin Gym at First Presbyterian Church, 1114 W. University Drive. Information about the program will be provided, and enrollment packets will be available in Spanish and English.

The following documents will be required to get students registered: immunization and health statement, income verification, birth certificate, social security card, proof of residence and a photo ID for a parent or legal guardian.

For more information, visit www.denton or call the school at 940-383-3332.

Lake Dallas ISD

High school students inducted into honor society

Twelve Lake Dallas high school students earned their spot in the French National Honor Society on April 24.

Students had to maintain a general scholarship and a French scholarship to be eligible for entry into the organization.

According to a press release, inductees are Mikey Peattie, Jase Ballard, Jackson Berry, Candace Collier, Anndrew Contreras, Jimena Cruz, Garrett Henderson, Jordan Hoover, Carlos Lara, Sydney Leney, Emily Oxendine and Alexia Nkasama.

Aubrey ISD

Student wins congressional art competition

Aubrey High School senior Sarah Wainwright won first place in the 17th annual 26th District Congressional Art Competition.

Her colored pencil drawing titled “Framework” will be displayed in U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess’ office for the next year.

All competition finalists were recognized by Burgess during a reception at the Patterson-Appleton Art Center on April 24.

Students from public, private and home-schooled high schools were eligible for the competition.

Ponder ISD

Students sweep statewide competition

Ponder Junior High School students won numerous awards at the recent Texas Math and Science Coaches Association competition in San Antonio.

Forty-six students competed across four events, winning the first place 3A Sweepstakes Team award, as well as many more individual awards.

Students finishing in the top 10 are:

Number Sense

  • Team — Connor Brown, Colin Perryman, Charles Johnson and Mason Hodges, second place.
  • Sixth grade — Charles Johnson, first place; and Faith Hooper, fourth place.
  • Seventh grade — Colin Perryman, sixth place; and Collin Wallace, eighth place.
  • Eighth grade — Connor Brown, fourth place; and Mason Hodges, sixth place.


  • Team — Connor Brown, Packard Smith, Riggs Arterberry, and Nicholas Fuentes, second place.
  • Sixth grade — Austin VanZuiden, first place; and Charles Johnson, eighth place.
  • Seventh grade — Riggs Arterberry, third place; Ashley Brandon, fifth place; Sawyer Mulkey, sixth place; Anna Beth Glisson, eighth place; Colin Perryman, 10th place (tie); and Collin Wallace, 10th place (tie).
  • Eighth grade — Connor Brown, second place; Packard Smith, fourth place; Nicholas Fuentes, ninth place; and Jada Trosper, 10th place.


  • Team — Connor Brown, Collin Wallace, Packard Smith, and Colin Perryman, first place.
  • Sixth grade — Faith Hooper, first place.
  • Seventh grade — Collin Wallace, third place; and Colin Perryman, fifth place.
  • Eighth grade — Connor Brown, third place; and Packard Smith, sixth place.


  • Team — Nolan Durrett, Keegan Fain, Max Hutcherson, and Connor Brown, fourth place.
  • Sixth grade — Nolan Durrett, third place; Orion Mireles, fourth place; Kale Jones, fifth place; Charles Johnson, eighth place; and Faith Hooper, ninth place.
  • Seventh grade — Max Hutcherson, sixth place.
  • Eighth grade — Keegan Fain, eighth place.
— Compiled by Marshall Reid

MARSHALL REID can be reached at 940-566-6862 and via Twitter at @MarshallKReid.