A newer residential neighborhood in the once-rural Frisco area in Denton County. Denton County election officials see this among the places that have contributed to rapid population growth that is affecting the boundaries of county commissioner precincts.

Election and county officials on Tuesday started the process of redistricting all four of the Denton County commissioner precinct boundaries, meaning you might belong to a new commissioner precinct beginning in 2020.

The lines have not been redrawn since the 2010 U.S. Census. Denton County Elections Administrator Frank Phillips said now is the time to redistrict, to strike a balance between the populations of each commissioner precinct.

The uptick in North Texas residents has created a lopsided breakdown of people living in the four county commissioner precincts. State law requires each precinct be divided nearly equal in population, so each commissioner can represent a proportional number of residents as they conduct county business.

Phillips said Precinct 3, currently represented by Commissioner Bobbie Mitchell, and Precinct 1, overseen by Commissioner Hugh Coleman, are the main issues.

Phillips said Precinct 3 — which covers the Lewisville-Flower Mound area all the to the Corinth area — has fewer residents than the other precincts, while Precinct 1 — which picks up where Precinct 3 leaves off and covers the northern and northwestern parts of Denton County — has too many, in comparison.

The boundaries of the other precincts, Phillips said, will be adjusted alongside Precincts 3 and 4 to find a balance.

“They’ll all be affected,” Phillips said.

County Judge Andy Eads said his office will send letters to both major political parties in the county, as well as advocacy groups such as the NAACP and the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) to solicit feedback on how the lines should be redrawn.

Phillips said all of this will be done by about August, so partisans will have plenty of time to prepare for the 2020 primary elections.

And voters around Little Elm, Hackberry, Lewisville, Sanger and Frisco will see some changes to where they vote in elections beginning next year.

That’s because the populations of six voting precincts in Denton County — 1026, 1036, 2017, 1002, 1029 and 1035 — have reached or are nearing the point of having too many residents living in the precincts to comply with state voting law.

All six voting precincts be split, creating new precincts.

To be clear, these six precinct changes, or “splits,” will affect more than just county commissioners. These new lines could change where people vote during all types of local, state and national elections.

Phillips said these changes need to be completed by about August as well. People interested in becoming precinct chairs in the new precincts will have plenty of time before the 2020 March primaries, Phillips said.

DALTON LAFERNEY can be reached at 940-566-6882 and via Twitter at @daltonlaferney.

Recommended for you