Denton City Council.

The Denton City Council is expected to canvass the May 4 election during a special meeting Tuesday night. 

Voters elected a new District 3 representative, Jesse Davis, and reelected incumbents Gerard Hudspeth in District 1, Keely Briggs in District 2 and John Ryan in District 4. 

Following the election canvass, City Secretary Rosa Rios will administer the oath of office to each newly elected or reelected member. 

The swearing-in ceremony begins at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney St., and will be preceded by a welcome reception at 5:30 p.m. in the council workroom. 

PEGGY HEINKEL-WOLFE can be reached at 940-566-6881 and via Twitter at @phwolfeDRC.

Recommended for you