Lake Dallas High art teachers

Lake Dallas High School art teachers Jeanette Murray and Lacy Almeida and their fellow visual art teachers in Lake Dallas ISD are being honored with the District of Distinction designation, presented by the Texas Art Education Association.

Lake Dallas ISD

Art educators honored

Lake Dallas ISD was recently named a District of Distinction for its leadership efforts in the arts.

Twenty districts in the state were awarded a similar distinction by the Texas Art Education Association.

Visual arts teachers in the district will be formally awarded the distinction at the TAEA conference in Galveston in November.

In the area

Officers installed in teachers association

Denton Retired Teachers Association officers were installed for 2019-20 during the last meeting of the previous school year.

Pam Ferguson is now president, Jean Burch is first vice president, Paula House is second vice president, Kay Stensgard is secretary and Donna Zelisko-McLaughlin is treasurer.

The group meets monthly and is open to all retired teachers.

— Marshall Reid

Recommended for you