Capitol Dome

U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, R-Pilot Point, has announced 18 appointees to the service academy class of 2023, according to a news release.

Burgess honored the appointees from within his 26th Congressional District at a reception last week hosted by the city of The Colony and its mayor, Joe McCourry. 2019 U.S. Military Academy graduates U.S. Army 2nd Lt. Dowon Park and U.S. Army 2nd Lt. Seth Sowalski from Fort Worth and Frisco, respectively, were the special guests at the reception.

The men and women appointed for the program will be attending various service academies around the U.S. during the summer. To be appointed, students were evaluated on criteria including academic performance, leadership qualifications and physical preparedness, according to the release.

Before being appointed, the students also needed a nomination from a member of Congress, an academy superintendent, the vice president or a military-connected nomination, according to the news release.

Following are the class of 2023 service academy appointees and their hometowns:

  • U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York — Meredith Fusselman, Roanoke; Zachary Laible, Frisco; and Daniel Park, The Colony.
  • U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland — Jaden Fanning, Lake Dallas; Jake Tabor, Frisco; and John Brand, Jake Carrillo and Mark Vaughan, all of Flower Mound.
  • U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, Colorado — Blake Covin, Flower Mound; Sophia Davis, Roanoke; Merrick Seeley, Argyle; Medeline Williams, Keller; and Trey Taylor and Adam White, both of Frisco.
  • U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York — Jessica Gamsjager, from the Lantana area; Riley Hicks, Frisco; Cassidy Jester, Corinth; and Brian Wawczack, Flower Mound.

Recommended for you